Error -- can't find user

OOD with OIDC login is failing. The user account does exist in the environment, but when the user tries to login they get this message:

error – can’t find user

I am pretty new to ood, and would deeply appreciate any help getting past this issue so that the user can access the environment.

Hi and welcome!

So what’s happening is we’re trying to map the user from the OIDC system to the local system. The fact that there’s no user there in the message is a clue (it should specify the user like error – can’t find user ktrout).

So that leads me to believe you’re mapping the REMOTE_USER to an empty string. The setting from the OIDC docs you’re looking for is oidc_remote_user_claim. I would guess that it defaults to preferred_username (a quick glance/spot check confirmed this).

So - either the user has no preferred_username (or it’s an empty string) or you’ve set oidc_remote_user_claim to a value that the OIDC system does not have.

https://osc.github.io/ood-documentation/latest/authentication/oidc.html

Additionally - you can set the lua_log_level to debug and you’ll see messages about how we’re mapping the REMOTE_USER.

Though you’re likely to just see messages that say what we already know like

mapped user johrstrom@osc.edu => ''

I apologize - I omitted part of the error message to not include the username. You are correct that the error message looks more like this:

Error – can’t find user for myuser
Run ‘nginx_stage --help’ to see a full list of available command line options.

Does this error indicate that there is an issue mapping the user from the OIDC system to the local system?

OK - let’s use myuser as the example. It appears that myuser is not a local/LDAP system user.

If you have a shell session on the webnode can you issue id myuser (replacing myuser with your actual user). This spot check should tell us if the user is available locally. I would guess that it isn’t.