Session information in info.md.erb

Hi all,

I am pretty new to using OOD, but managed to create an interactive app (RStudio).
Now the question popped up, when a user creates several R Sessions on the cluster, how can she distinguish which session does what in the session overview?

I thought to just add an additional text-field “custom label” to the form.yml and then display that string in the info.md.erb. However I did not find it straightforward to access the information of form, I would have expected erb-variables like session.custom_label or context.slots, but all I seem to be able to access are: @id, @host, @created and a handful of variables.

Now by accident I discovered that I do have access to a variable called “user_context_file” which does contain the path to (you guessed it) the user_context.json in the session directory.
Which my erb now reads, parses and then displays.

This feels pretty convoluted, I am sure there must be a more straightforward way?

Hello and welcome!

I would first point out that we do have an rstudio app which may actually do quite a bit of what you are trying to accomplish. This app can be found below:

This allows a user to run many rstudio sessions, though I am a bit unsure if it is the exact solution you are hoping/looking for. Is the goal to have information display on the session card about this particular session of rstudio vs another?

Exactly! A user might start a session (with a specific R-Version) and start a long-running script. Then start another session with a different R-Version to work on a different task. It would be nice if the session-overview shows for each running session not only when and where it was started, but also which queue was selected, which R-Version, and in my case an arbitrary string, e.g. “my session to do this”.

All of this information was set on the initial form.yml.erb, I expected it to be available in all other erb files

Cool! I think we can figure this out.