Sharing common code among multiple forms

Hi,

I’m fairly new to OOD and am working with an established system. I’m not very familiar with ruby and could use some help.

We have a block of code which we need to include in the form.yml.erb file for several different apps. I would like to keep that common code in one file which would then be referenced by each form.yml.erb that needs it.

I gather that ERB.new can be used for this, but I have tried a number of variations and have not been able to get it working. Could you please provide an example to follow?

Suppose, for example, the following block works as expected when included in the form.yml.erb file for some app.

<%
    if not ENV['MY_ENV_VAR'].nil?
      my_value = ENV['MY_ENV_VAR'].split(':').reject(&:blank?).sort
    end
%>

The my_value variable is then referenced elsewhere in the form.

I put those 3 lines of code into a separate file in the same directory. Then, I replaced the block with the following:

<% ERB.new(File.read('/full/path/to/the/right/spot/common.yml.erb'), nil, nil).result(binding) %>

That results in an error like this:
NameError: undefined local variable or method my_value’ for #ERB:0x000055bfa3aeb2b8`

Naturally, I tried defining my_value explicitly in form.yml.erb just before the ERB.new statement. That results in this error:

NoMethodError: undefined method to_h’ for #String:0x000055e7c7b64450 Did you mean? to_d to_r to_f to_i to_s to_c`

What’s the right way to do this?

Thanks for your help!

Chris

The way I was able to get this to work was to have the code in the common.yml.erb like you have, but then in the form.yml.erb at the top I did this:

<%-
  my_value = nil
  ERB.new(File.read('/path/to/common.yml.erb')).result(instance_eval{binding})
%>

This made my variable accessible.