Unable to get interactive desktops running

Hello,

I’m new to HPC, so forgive me if I use the wrong terminology. I’ve been trying to get Interactive Desktops running with a Slurm-backed cluster created through AWS’s ParallelCluster tool. The OOD server was made using this AWS workshop.

After getting everything running, I tested the ParallelCluster can run a basic Slurm job when submitting with sbatch from the head node (not OOD). I finally nailed down the cluster name from sacctmgr in my submit.yml.erb and the cluster config file (unfortunately the AWS workshop scripts call the Slurm cluster “cluster” haha).

Here is my cluster config file cluster.yml:

---
v2:
  metadata:
    title: "cluster"
    hidden: false
  login:
    host: "ip-*-*-*" (redacted)
  job:
    adapter: "slurm"
    cluster: "cluster"
    bin: "/bin"
    bin_overrides:
      sbatch: "/etc/ood/config/bin_overrides.py"

And here is my /var/www/ood/apps/sys/bc_desktop/submit.yml.erb:

batch_connect:
  template: vnc
  websockify_cmd: "/usr/local/bin/websockify"
cluster: "cluster"

Now when creating a desktop, the GUI gives me no logs,

but I see this in the ondemand-nginx error logs:

App 456545 output: [2023-10-03 20:48:17 +0000 ]  INFO "execve = [\"git\", \"describe\", \"--always\", \"--tags\"]"
App 456545 output: [2023-10-03 20:48:17 +0000 ]  INFO "method=GET path=/pun/sys/dashboard/batch_connect/sys/bc_desktop/imaging-poc/session_contexts/new format=html controller=BatchConnect::SessionContextsController action=new status=200 duration=28.44 view=17.97"