Change nc -w 2 to nc -z?

I’m relatively new to OOD, and during a jupyter app install, we’ve discovered that the app seems to be waiting on a ‘nc -w 2 {host} {port}’ call. We’re on Centos 7. The call works on an older system running Centos 6, which has netcat installed. The implementation of nc on the Centos 7 system seems to want ‘nc -z -w 2 {host} {port}’ to exit from the call with a zero return value in the case of a open connection.

Assuming that my analysis of the problem is correct, what is the best or most appropriate way to make that change?

Thanks!

Hi! and welcome to OOD.

I think there may be something else going on here. We actually execute nc -w 2 "${host}" "${port}" < /dev/null &> /dev/null so technically there is i/o. I actually had to play around with this a bit and look at the code to be 100% sure.

We run RHEL 7 with this version of netcat. I also confirmed it was the same version on centos:7. I’m guessing it’s what you see too.
Ncat: Version 7.50 ( https://nmap.org/ncat )

Where you able to confirm the command runs manually? Like this test: get 2 sessions on the same compute node, one where you run nc -lk localhost 33047 (just some random port I picked, you can choose a different one) and in the other session running nc -w 2 localhost 33047 < /dev/null and verifying what’s happening?

nc -w 2 {host} {port}

works as expected by OnDemand here. This is “/usr/bin/nc” from “nmap-ncat-6.40-19.el7.x86_64” on CentOS 7.7.1908

FWIW,

Ric

Thanks, I missed the redirection when I tested on the command line. I can confirm that it works as expected manually, but within the application it times out. I’m getting the “Timed out waiting for Jupyter Notebook server to open port…” message in the output log.

I can confirm we’re on the same version of Ncat:
Ncat: Version 7.50 ( https://nmap.org/ncat )

Apologies for the misdirection - what threw me was that the Centos6 nc implementation (which is netcat, I believe) worked without the redirection.