New to HPC and Open OnDemand

I’m a Linux administrator for my University. A professor purchased two Lambda servers for AI research and asked if I could install Open OnDemand. I said yes thinking it was just another “yum/apt install” request.

After some review it seems clear I want to set up a separate server for Open OnDemand (correct me I’m wrong please). I’ve created a new server in VMware running Debian 12 and I’m installing Open OnDemand this week. I’ll configure authorization through our CAS system.

My goal right now is to get a minimal setup working that provides command line access to the Lambda servers as a replacement for SSH and build from there. My understanding is the two Lambda Servers act as the compute nodes.

My problem, I have zero experience with HPC. I’ve been looking at the diagram in the link below. I don’t understand if I need to have a cluster setup first or if setting up Open OnDemand builds the cluster? Will I need a shared backend storage or can I get away without it for such a simple setup?

In advance, thanks for any advice or direction.

Hi Peter:
In general, HPC consists of nodes that are deployed from a common image via some tool like Warewulf, Bright Cluster Manager, lsof… and jobs are scheduled across them by a scheduler such as Slurm, PBS Pro, Platform LSF,… Job submission is done via CLI commands like “sbatch myscript.sh” (for slurm).

Open Ondemand leverages the schedular by providing a web based GUI to create and submit jobs, as well as a web based ssh client to login to (typically) the job submission node for the cluster.

In the absence of a schedular, you could run OOD on one of the customer nodes, as long as accessing that node via https is allowed. The ssh client would then spawn on whatever node you named, possibly including the one being used to host OOD. I would prefer a VM for ood for isolation reasons and to avoid “wjy is ood down/slow/…?” caused by heavy compute load on your customer’s systems.