OOD authentication options

Hi,

I’m new to OOD and I’m looking to use it without an LDAP system. I’ve tried htpasswd already, We need the ability to add and remove users from a GUI interface and hopefully, the user can get mapped on the system as well. Is there such a method out there? htpasswd would make it hard on someone who’s not too technical. Especially, when dealing with multiple systems at the same time. I really appreciate anyone helping on this. Thanks.

Hello and welcome!

Have you looked at something like OpenID Connect? I don’t know what criteria you are exactly going by but there are some options available which you can see here:

https://osc.github.io/ood-documentation/latest/authentication.html

Sorry if that isn’t specific enough, but please feel free to ask some more follow-up questions as you look through the options and consider if any work for your environment.

You might also want to look at ColdFront. OOD doesn’t handle any of the underlying system config stuff like account management. It relies on other tools to do that.

https://dl.acm.org/doi/pdf/10.1145/3437359.3465585

I have started to look at OpenID Connect but I thought it would also require an LDAP system. If it isn’t the case I would like to use it. I can see there’s a user_map_cmd. Do I still need to create every user manually for OpenID connect to work? The OOD server is alone, will be adding a few servers to the cluster as we go. We have no infrastructure around it. This is why we need a method that will create the user for the system and OOD application. Previously, I tried htpasswd, I had to add the user manually for the application and system.

I believe OpenID Connect uses OAuth 2.0 but I am not an authentication expert unfortunately.

@tdockendorf do you have any guidance here? I am not knowledgeable about how the users are created and mapped by these auth systems.